Tutorial : prayer flags : earth day every day

On Earth Day, we celebrated by planting and gardening and being outside all day.  We try to celebrate and respect nature every day, but there’s always a good reason to be even more thoughtful about how we go about our days, while we walk on our planet.

I’ve been wanting to do flags that would remind us of taking care of our home, in the bigger sense, and have thought of few ideas.  But what made sense this year, was to create Earth Day Prayer Flags, and I love the connection we have now with India, and having visited the foothills of the Himalayas, it makes me feel like I have a stronger connection to the original meaning of these.  And though I looked for prayer flags while we were in northern India, these that we made here at home last week, will remind us of why we have them.

Prayer flags are hung to bless the surrounded area and countryside (where they originated in the Himalayas) and are said to bring long life, prosperity and happiness for those who hang them and the vicinity.  These are our wishes to our friends and neighbors and to the world, on Earth Day, but mostly, every day.

I found these when I was searching on ideas on what to print and I was originally inspired by Maya’s post on her blog on garden wish flags.  They are so beautiful!  I can see us making more flags soon.

This is how we made them:

I recycled one of my linen pants that were not fitting right anymore.

I cut each rectangle, 9×13 inches.  I folded over one side, one inch, so we can pass the ribbon through it, to hang.

In one of our walks, and from our garden, we picked some leaves we wanted to print.

We used Jacquard fabric paint I had bought at Dharma Trading a while back to try freezer paper stencils on t-shirts few summers ago.

We used a foam brush to paint the leaves.  We painted them in the front and others in the back, giving us different prints.

Then we placed the leaf in the spot we wanted in the fabric piece.

We put a (recycled) paper on top of the painted leaf and then with a brayer, we went over the leaf few times, making sure the leaf and paper wouldn’t move, so the print was clear.

Took the paper out and carefully lifted the leaf.

To see the beautiful prints on our fabric pieces!

We let the prints dry outside while it was a little warm and sunny.

And then this paint says to set it with an iron on the back of the painted fabric, for few seconds.  We did that.

And then we lined them up in the order we wanted to see them hung.

We used a green bias tape to use as a string to hang the flags from. I always grab these when I see them when I’m thrift stores.  We seem to find many ways to use them in our crafting.

I went through the bias and the individual flags with the sewing machine so the flags wouldn’t shift around when they are hung and moving with the wind.

I love how they turned out. They make me happy to see them flying in our porch, and sharing the blessings in our neighborhood.
6 thoughts on “Tutorial : prayer flags : earth day every day

  1. Fish Out of Water May 2, 2012 / 6:01 am

    Beautiful!

  2. Catherine Forest May 2, 2012 / 6:15 pm

    I am sure the kids loved this activity! And the result is beautiful! Great idea!

  3. Vivienne Orgel August 5, 2012 / 8:21 am

    Beautiful, are there other crafts / tutorials you’ve posted, is there a list? Thanks,

    • naturallyfundays : marcela August 5, 2012 / 9:30 am

      Hello Vivienne. I don’t have posted the categories (I am working on that) but you can search my blog by typing “tutorial”. It will list the few I’ve done. Enjoy! Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

