My quilt

I learned to quilt two years ago.  Well, I feel like I’m just beginning to learn, so it’s more accurate if I say something like “I’ve been learning to quilt for the past two years.”

And really, it’s been lots of fun.  I love seeing new patterns, finding fabrics I’d like to use, new designs, new weights of fabric.  I am still staying with squares and rectangles, mostly straight lines.  Or at least trying to make them straight! It’s the mixing of these lines, these cuts that makes each quilt so special and unique.

I love touching the fabrics.  Thinking of who the quilt is going to go to, where it might be used for, whats the occasion.  I like using upcycled fabrics, from sweaters, sheets, skirts, blouses, anything that looks beautiful and needs to continue with its life.

I also like going to the fabric store and finding new patterns and seeing all that is out there, just so beautifully displayed, so many great ideas.  There seems to be inspiration all over.

When we arrived from India I felt the urge to make things.  It was winter and I felt cold coming from what it seemed like more than half a year of summer. I felt the need of catching up in the making of things.  I still do.  So I started this quilt.  For me.  For us. For our bed this one, so it was going to be big, or at least bigger than any of the other ones I’ve made.

So I picked the flannels I’ve gathered, put those that I liked together and on a trip to the fabric store, found a fabric that put everything together.  This pattern on the brown fabric (and the light blue) I just loved.  It reminded me of designs I saw in India.

Not so much for the colors, but the patterns and designs.

So it became My India Quilt.

I played with the placement of the blocks.

Until I found what I liked.

I’ve had few days with chunks of hours to myself and was able to put it together pretty quickly.

Some nights with music and a glass of wine.

Some days outside in the sunshine with a cup of chai.

And now on our bed, keeping us warm in the cold nights we still have.  It’s only March after all!

7 thoughts on “My quilt

  1. Monica March 20, 2012 / 1:51 pm

    ¡¡ QUE BONITO !!! y que trabajo !!! ahora no deben poner los zapatos sobre esa hermosura ….. ¡¡ Te pasaste !! ampliada y corregida , como diría la omi … Besitos

    • naturallyfundays : marcela March 20, 2012 / 7:19 pm

      Hola Mamá. Me encanta como me quedó. Me gustan los colores y los diseños. Lo pasé super bien haciéndolo. Es tan entretenido. Chori, chori. “Ampliada y corregida”… que divertido.

  2. Lia March 20, 2012 / 3:26 pm

    ohhhhhh que maravilla. ¡¡¡ Hace tiempo que quiero hacer uno !!! ¿Es lo mismo que Patchwork? Te quedó precioso.
    Se ve facil, pero me tinca medio quebradero de cabeza. Unir cada cuadrito, que no se muevan mientras pasas la maquina, a medida que crece lograr cocerlo en la maquina uffff
    Definitivamente ¡¡¡¡ FELICITACIONES !!!

    • naturallyfundays : marcela March 20, 2012 / 7:12 pm

      Listo Primita. Te tengo un viaje dedicado especialmente para ti. Parece que tienen que venir a vernos. Te muestro como se hacen estos “quilts”, te mostramos los parques, salimos a caminar a ver plantas en la naturaleza, vamos al mar, a las montanas, a los rios, podemos bajar un rio si quieren, salir a acampar, vamos en bicicleta al centro o a un museo de ciencias, vamos al museo de arte, jardines chino o japones… si quieres tambien podemos ir a un mall 🙂 Que te parece?
      Un “quilt” no es lo mismo que “patchwork”. Estos tienen cada pedazos de genero cortados por separados, cosiendolos cada uno para formas los disenos. Patchwork lo pones encima de un pedazo de genero, tambien pueden ser pedazos chicos, pero estan encima de un genero.

      • Lia March 23, 2012 / 2:32 pm

        ¡¡¡ Linda mi primita pequeña !!!. Poco a poco me estas convenciendo. jejeje

        Entonces el quilt ¿no va con un genero mas grueso por detras? El patchwork (los que veo por acá) se ven como alcolchados y me tinca que sirve como cobertor para el frio. El quilt no cumpliría con esta funcion, entonces. ya que seria mas delgado. ¿o no ?

        Un besote.

  3. Glenda Miller March 21, 2012 / 4:46 am

    Very, very nice! Looks warm and comfy, and I love the fabrics, colors, and design. You’re very ambitious to do such a large project. Made me want to stay home from work and sew today!!

  4. naturallyfundays : marcela March 21, 2012 / 8:21 am

    Hi Glendie. It was big but it was something I really have meaning to do. A large quilt for our bed. And I figure I should start with a simpler pattern so I could actually finish it! It is so warm and cozy. We all enjoy snuggling in bed. Thanks for teaching me to quilt Glendie!

Leave a Reply

