People we wish we’d met

A funny thing happens, pretty often.  Lots of people ask us to take pictures of us.  Some with us, some of us, but mostly they want to take pictures with Lucas and Siena.

Some are taken with their phone camera. Others with bigger cameras. Some in the temples and palaces we’ve visited.  Other times has been right outside our home.

Also, lots of times, they’ve asked me to take a picture of them.  I, personally, love this idea, so I always take their picture.  I get to talk to them for a moment and we’ll get to remember them.  And since I haven’t seen them since that moment, I’m posting them here to see if you, my friends, know these “almost friends”.

We wish we could have talk more and gotten to know them a little better.  For now, here I introduce them to you.

At the Red Fort.  Our first photo with strangers.

At Jami Masjid.

At The Fort.  ‘Our fort’. 

Outside our house.

At the palace in Orchha.  I’ll share this place in a later post.

A Sadhu.

Well? Now you’ve met these “friends-for-a-minute” from our first 3 weeks here in India. 

Now I need your help.  I’m not sure what I should name this post.  Can you give me any suggestions?  The winning suggestion will get to name the title for this post (permamently!) and will get a special present from us.  Just leave me a comment here in this post and we’ll decide by next Wednesday.   Deadline is September 14, 2011 — My brother, Ricardo’s Birthday.

6 thoughts on “People we wish we’d met

  1. viewfrombelow September 9, 2011 / 2:29 am

    🙂 we Indians have an, almost child-like, fascination to anything ”foreign” (i am sure you have figured out by now that we associate the word to ‘people’ more than ‘things’).. i remember when I was young, our family took a vacation to Agra and while at the Taj Mahal there were, obviously, a lot of foreigner.. and my mother was quick to ask a nice lady, who was just taking a break from all the walking, if she would mind posing with me and my younger sister for a quick photograph.. the lady quite happily agreed and after almost 20 years, we still have the photograph.. for posterity sake.. 🙂 i do have a rather impossible hope that i might come across that lady sometime during my lifetime..

    I am sure Lucas and Siena would look back at these pictures with a smile on their faces a few decades from now.. 🙂

    PS: I came across your post while tag surfing on a rather dull Friday afternoon.. and couldnt leave without commenting.. i do hope you all enjoy your India trip..

    PPS: For posterity sake… (a possible title suggestion).. 🙂

    • naturallyfundays September 10, 2011 / 12:06 am

      Hello “view from below”. Thank you so much for your comment and of course, you title suggestion. We’ll add it to the list. Funny I hadn’t thought any “strangers” would find my blog and postings (not sure why) but I’m glad you did and hopefully made your Friday a little brighter 🙂 Are you in India? It’s great that the internet makes the world seem a lot smaller.

      • viewfrombelow September 16, 2011 / 5:32 am

        It did (make the Friday brighter).. kinda curious that i come back on another Friday to reply.. Yes I am in India.. From a city called Baroda in Gujarat.. and yes, its true what you said about the internet.. 🙂
        I see from your recent posts that you are having a good time exploring a rather lesser seen side of India.. and, if i may say so, it’s also nice to see people talk and write about things they find good (intriguing, may be even a little eccentric, but good) about the country, while a lot many like me have become so cynical about it [http://poetryofpissedoffness.wordpress.com/]

        keep writing, i’ll stop by as frequently as possible..

      • naturallyfundays September 16, 2011 / 11:00 am

        We are coming to see and have fun. It’s not many times you get to live in a different country than your own.

  2. Kelly September 10, 2011 / 3:09 pm

    “How Foreigners Become Friends”

    Funny how we are all foreigners somewhere. And skin color is one fascinating thing you cannot hide. Glad the responses are friendly as you all become integrated into each others lives.

    • naturallyfundays September 11, 2011 / 11:56 pm

      Hello Kelly. You are so right. We all do look different but the bottom line is we are all people. It’s been fun to meet everyone here and getting to know them (at least some of them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

