making : sewing + cooking

Since we’ve arrived from our trip a couple of weeks ago, I’ve been trying to catch up in the  makings around the house.  So many ideas I have floating in my head, and I can see the end of my free-er time coming to an end in few weeks.  I am not complaining, because I know I am lucky to have Mark at home for so long, but I want to finish (and get started) few things.

I am participating in the summer swap organized by the sweet Amanda from Sweet Potato Claire.  I’ve been almost done for few weeks now, but I have a couple of projects still almost done.

DSC_0661

It’s been so much fun thinking of what to make now with the long and warm days outside.  So different from the making from the winter.

DSC_0657-small

My secret friend is amazing at crafting so many different things.  As I read through her blog it inspires me, every time.  I am really hoping she’ll like my hand made goodies.  My box is not in the mail yet.  But hopefully soon.  I know how exciting it is to open up that love-filled box when it arrives at your doorstep.  What a treat.

With blueberry season under our belt, so is the jelly and jam making as well as the freezing of these delicious round blue yummy-ness.  Perfect treat for hot days and later in the winter.DSC_0762-small

DSC_0763-smallWe had a little special guy visiting us last week, so the kids made a warning zone that could not be trespassed.  Because we do all of our canning in this outside gas stove, a hot spot in the playing area.  But just for a little while.  So not much of the playing was interrupted and our kitchen stayed cool for the evening.

DSC_0655-smallI also made these fabric buckets.  I’ve seen them all over.  My favorites are the ones Maya (from MayaMade) makes.  With the burlap… I might have to try them at some point.

DSC_0654-smallFor this one I used an old tablecloth.  I used most of it for a recycled linen quilt I made this spring but wanted to see if it would work. I wanted it for the kitchen.  And it looks good. I like it.  But I think I need to use a thicker interfacing, because it’s too floppy.

DSC_0650-smallFor the other one I used regular cotton for inside, and it stands a little firmer.  That bucket was snatched very quickly for some toys.  Fair enough. 

DSC_0652-smallI used two different patterns. One used a round base and the other one a rectangular one. Both turned out good, I’m not sure I have a preference yet.  I will have to sew more with different fabric and different interfacing to see what I like best.  But I love these already. I know, there will be more to come.

What have you’ve been making lately?

This entry was posted in Food, Handmade, home, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to making : sewing + cooking

  1. Glendie says:

    Your do SO MUCH making and cooking….you really leave me in the dust!!! Love your baskets! Glendie

  2. Kerrie says:

    Those baskets are so cute!

Leave a Reply

