making : linens summer quilt

DSC_0094-small

For years now, I’ve been collecting linens.  I have lots of linens from my mom. Some she has made, others from my Omi.  And others are from even someone else special.

DSC_0097-small

But every time I see a kitchen towel or a table cloth in a garage sale or thrift store, pretty and handmade, I get it.  I love the stitches.   There is something really special about them.  Someone worked really hard on it, dedicated long hours.  They spent lots of time to make this something beautiful.  And hopefully it was loved, used, and cared for.

DSC_0106-small

DSC_0104-small DSC_0103-smallSometimes you can see the worn out threads or the thin parts of the fabric.  Someone really used them well.  It makes me happy to see.  Other times you can see they are almost new, sometimes they are unfinished projects.  I wonder what their story behind is.  I still get them.

DSC_0093-small DSC_0099-small DSC_0096-small DSC_0092-smallEven with these holes, sometimes I still get them.  I thought maybe some day I would make something with them.  Not sure what yet but I knew something would come up.

DSC_0091-small

While cleaning up and organizing the past few months, I put all these linens together and picked those I wanted to use first.  My idea was to make a quilt, using the best pieces of (mostly) these tablecloths.

DSC_0111-smallAnd this was the hardest part.  Cutting the linens.  Oh my!  It took me few tries before I was able to do cut these large tablecloths.  I kept thinking maybe this was not the right project.  Maybe I could use these tablecloths and doilies for something else.  Something maybe I didn’t have to cut them?  Not sure, I closed my eyes and went for it.

DSC_0108-small

I cut pieces 13 inches wide and whatever length I could manage, with the best fabric.

DSC_27-smallI lined them up.

DSC_28-smallSome of them were different shapes, so I sewed them to another piece on top, to make it square (or rectangular).  I used the same linens I was cutting for the back of them.  I wanted to use all recycled materials, and especially since I was cutting the tablecloths up anyways.  I didn’t want anything extra to go to the trash can.

DSC_0120-small DSC_0123-small

I sewed them into strips.  Then I sewed those strips together into the top of the quilt.

DSC_0125-small

I measured our bed and I made it the size to fit.  I want to use this quilt in the summer, when our comforter is too hot to use, but it’s not hot enough for just a thin blanket or just a top sheet.  Something in between.  Something for mid season.

DSC_0013-small DSC_0014-smallSo I used mid weight cotton batting and a queen size sheet as the backing.  I set this sandwich on the floor and pinned the layers.

DSC_0016-smallI found this flower sheet set at the store.  I used the flat sheet for the quilt.  Now I have the fitted sheet and the pillow cases to use as a new bedding (I have a new quilt AND new sheets, smart huh!)

DSC_0017-smallI decided to not use a binding, but instead fold the backing (the sheet) into the front of the quilt and sew it in place.  Giving it the same border than the (new!) sheets we’ll use in the summer with it.  I’m not one to match everything around the house, but I thought it looked cute making it match those times the sheets and the quilt were used together.

DSC_0018-small

I also decided to sew around the edge only.  I am going to tie the quilt instead.  I want the beauty of the hand stitches themselves to be the center of the quilt, not the quilting of it.

DSC_0024-small DSC_0025-small

And so here it is now.  On top of our bed.  I like it.  Some days it is still a little chilly without the flannel sheets I put away few weeks ago.  So we are using my new quilt and the comforter underneath.  I like it also that some weeks we are all matchy-matchy with our new soft sheets and quilt.  All those flowers might just bring spring and summer back to us.

DSC_0038-small DSC_0037-smallIt started raining again this weekend, but I think it’s just a short visit.  We have flowers blooming everywhere.

 

This entry was posted in Handmade, Repurpose. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to making : linens summer quilt

  1. Yanic A. says:

    How beautiful! This has to be one of the loveliest quilts I’ve seen in a while. Reminds me of my grand-mother’s home. :-)

  2. Glendie says:

    So (sew) very beautiful! What an accomplishment!!!!

  3. Katie says:

    It is very lovely and awesome that you have used beautiful linens that were discarded by someone else.

Leave a Reply

