total lunar eclipse + the blood moon

I’m up late tonight.  I wanted to stay up to watch the total moon eclipse.  I love watching the moon.  I enjoy knowing its cycle, it amazes me every time how nature does its thing and it has done it for thousands of years, no matter if I look up at the sky or not.  It happens.  So much is known now a days, but how incredible it is.

We were reading earlier today, how the aztec’s had a lunar calendar and how they made sense of it, and how in tuned with nature they were.  It makes sense. Tonight, as the night progressed, the clouds appeared.  Then they disappeared.

My plan of waking everyone up to see the eclipse and the blood moon was turning just into a late bed time for me.  But one more check before going to bed, and the skies were clear. The moon had started to get dark.  I waited a little longer.  The moon was almost half dark.  Then almost all of it.   That’s when I woke Mark up and the kids.

We were all watching from the room upstairs until the moon was completely dark, and it had a reddish halo.  The kids were ready to keep sleeping.  So was Mark.  I am ready to go to bed too.

I didn’t see it this red (as in this photo I found online), but what an amazing event it is.  It is still happening.  A nature’s show.  And you know the most exciting thing to me is? Knowing there are so many people out there watching the same amazing moon right now.

I wonder if my parents or my nieces and nephews are watching this, at this same moment, all the way down in Chile? A gathering of sorts around nature, around the globe.  Beautiful.

One more look before I head to bed, and the clouds now have appeared as a veil over the moon closing the show for the evening.

This entry was posted in global, outdoors, right now, Science, spring. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to total lunar eclipse + the blood moon

  1. quiltykanuck says:

    You are so lucky… I had set my alarm, but the sky was thick with clouds. I so wanted to be a part of it. It will be for next time! So happy you got to enjoy it.

  2. Tracey says:

    We didn’t get to see it here, too many clouds and now rain. Next time for sure I hope.

Leave a Reply

