a blogger swap

Few weeks ago I was reading Heather’s blog at Beauty That Moves and read her post about a blogger handmade goodies swap.  So I went over to check it out.

DSC_0013-small

Amanda, from Sweet Potato Claire, organized a swap with fellow bloggers across the country.  Something I’ve never done before, and what a beautiful surprise and great joy this was.  All the way.  From contacting and ‘talking’ to Amanda, and her answering all my newbie questions.  She’s such a lovely lady… oh my!

Amanda swapped (is that a word? it doesn’t sound right…) anyways she swapped 68 blogging ladies from different parts of the country, and gave us all someone to send a little package filled with handmade goodies.

We were able to see everyone who was participating, and everyone’s blog, to learn and get to know each one a little better, from her list of craft swappers.

DSC_0014-small

And just like that, while I was making my own handmade goodies, and sending off my own box to my swap partner, one day I found my own package at the door.  Look at all the beautiful things I got in the mail last week.  I didn’t know of course, until I received the package that Tracey from Clover had my name as a swap partner.  I’ve never met her before, but it was as if she had known me forever.

DSC_0022-small

These coasters.  Four (yes FOUR!) knitted cotton coasters in the shape of leaves.  But I’m not really allowing hot things on top of them… they are just too pretty to cover them! Look at them…

DSC_0039-small

So, they are decorating our dining table, and we play around them.

DSC_0020-small

She made this beautiful bowl with gourds she grew in her garden.  So cute!

DSC_0015-small

Now, we want to plant some gourds and see if we can make some! What a great and beautiful present.

DSC_0016-small

Now, this is a trick photo.  Tracey sent me this Almond Rosemary Toffee and has the recipe in her blog.  We opened the package when it got home, one day after dinner.  The kids wanted to try the toffee so we had some while watching the Olympics.  Next day when I took this photo I had to put the only pieces left on the little window of the bag so it show what it was.  We had eaten almost all of them in less than one day!  It is (was) that good.

DSC_0018-small

And oh… look at this cup cozy.  Oh the yarn so pretty, I love the colors.

DSC_0021-small

And look at the wooden button!  I don’t know if Tracey knew of my love for wood but I think this would have been my choice to make myself a cozy.  All of it.  The yarn, the colors, the button… it is that perfect.  I’m telling you!  She’s amazing.

Tracey wrote about her swap and her making in her blog before I received the package, but I hadn’t seen it.  And even if I would have, because I did look around everyone’s blog, there’s no way I would have known it was for me, because there’s a large list of swappers.  But oh… I probably would have wished it was for me!

DSC_0019-small

Everything was so delicate and so cute and pretty and nicely wrapped and beautiful cards and so delicious and so… so… just perfectly beautiful!  She took lots of time in making me feel special.  My heart filled with joy and happiness and thankfulness.  Thank you, thank you so very much Tracey.  You are a beautiful person.

I hope my swap partner liked her goodies also.  From all the list, she was the only one who didn’t have a blog, so I don’t really know.  But I’m crossing my fingers she’s been enjoying her goodies.  They were fun to make and to send off a little package her way with care, and hoping for some happiness wrapped in that box.

Siena was so excited to see what this mystery box from someone unknown contained.  It was so much fun.  There’s nothing better than receiving something special in the mail, right?  I have to do more often.  It is really fun and it brightens anybody’s day.  I know that.

Now, Siena has given me the homework to find a group of kids to do a handmade swap like this.  I don’t know if there is anything like that for kids, but I’m searching now.  If anybody knows or wants to do something like that we’d love it.

I’m so glad I decided to participate in this swap, because it was a great experience, with so much fun to make, give as well as to receive.  Thank you Amanda.  Will have to do it again some time.

This entry was posted in Handmade. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to a blogger swap

  1. Katie says:

    Wow, what a goodie package! I would love all of those gifts! It is fantastic that she made all of those items.

  2. Tracey says:

    Marcella, this post made me cry. From the bottom of my heart I am so thankful you like the gifts as much as I enjoyed making them for you. This was such a fun swap and it’s so nice to have made another friend in this world. Please tell your babies that I haven’t forgotten about the gourd seeds and will post them when I travel to town. Have a beautiful weekend.

    • Oh my goodness Tracey. It was such a fun and beautiful way to get to know you a little more (besides reading your blog.) Thank you once again. We are enjoying your treasures so much! And yes! We’ll love your gourd seeds. I’m going to keep it a secret for them until their package arrives then… thank you for being so thoughtful! And thank you for this new friendship. Have a great weekend.

  3. Beulah says:

    What a wonderful idea! So many beautiful and fun things. Great gift ideas……

  4. amanda says:

    oh yay! I remember seeing Tracey’s post with photos of her package going out and thinking that was one lucky lady who’d be receiving it! I’m so thrilled that you’ve enjoyed being a part of the swap, Marcela~
    xoxo

  5. Noelle B says:

    I’m your partner! It’s me its me it’s me!!!! And I feel the very same way about the goodies you sent to me that you do about the goodies you received :-) I wish I could attach pictures because I took so very many of them! Send me an email? I would love to give you a proper thank you!

  6. jenny says:

    oooohhh!! i saw tracey’s gifts on her blog and thought they were just gorgeous :) so happy to see them so well received and loved…. and it sounds like your package going out was lovely too :) such a small world it is :)

    • Hi Jenny. Thanks for coming to visit this little space. Yes, Tracey’s package was such beautiful! Everything she made, so lovely. I had also looked at your blog and have seen all the fun stuff you make with your family… and I saw today that I have the same books you’ve been using lately!
      Again, thanks for coming. Hope you’re having a good start to your week.

Leave a Reply

