a beautiful winter

DSC_0059-small

To me, there’s two kinds of beautiful winters.

DSC_0060-small

The winter we usually have here, rainy, stormy, gray and wet.  I like it.  But I would also say, that an even more beautiful winter would be with snow on the ground for the most part.  Oh yes.  A snowy winter that I’ve never lived in, but I long for someday be in it. Snow for two months.  No, three months.  The kind it makes everything glow and quiets the world.  But I know these are somewhere else.  And I know, it happened this winter in a big part of our country, and I know it’s not as glamorous as I have it in my head.  But since I’ve never lived one, I’m allowed to dream. Right? And dream is what makes it even more beautiful.  DSC_0064-small

And then there is the beautiful winter that you would normally think, with sunshine, not very gray or muddy days.  The kind you can still play outside, even though the calendar says December or February.  The kind, my kids are wearing t-shirts most of the time. The kind of winter that when you look outside you can see the blue skies and the sun shining.

DSC_0068-small DSC_0074-small DSC_0078-small DSC_0083-small

DSC_0057-small

Well? That’s the kind of winter we’ve had this year.  Amazingly beautiful, so different from our rainy, gray, wet days.  I still like those, because I do love rain.  But this was different.

DSC_0090-small DSC_0096-small

And it’s been perfectly fine.  Perfectly beautiful.

This entry was posted in Oregon, winter. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to a beautiful winter

  1. Tracey says:

    I dream too of a snowy winter, but where I live that is just a dream.

  2. Amy Jo says:

    Lulu’s house! In one of your photos. We knocked on your door on Wed. afternoon but no one answered. We were in the neighborhood to buy Ossley a bike for his birthday. We want to see you!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Hi Amy Jo. I know. It is such a pretty house. Love their porch! It was such a beautiful day I decided to take photos of a walk we do so often, and never had taken pictures. The neighborhood is changing so much, I want to keep some of these as the kids grow up.
      Sorry we missed you. Let’s get together.

Leave a Reply

