:: 114 ::

Same time last year, it was 112.  We have both adventurized another year.  (I don’t think that’s a real word because it’s still with red wiggles as I type, but it is exactly what I mean. So I think it should be a word just for now.)

My mom, turns 72 today.  And I’m turning 42, today too.

My Mom.

Growing up I remember I’d have my birthday celebrations, many times in the afternoons.  Then in the evenings, when all my friends had left and things were cleaned up, it was time for my mom’s celebrations with her friends.  It was fun to do that.  I enjoyed it then, and I love having the same birthday to celebrate with my mom.  It feels very special.

I still remember those pillows I think my grandma had made. I wonder where they are now. Will have to ask my mom.

I wore this uniform for 13 years, and I think it was fun and easy. Love my huge pile of bangs.

I like this photo, even though it is blurry. It is at my uncle’s farm, we’d go visit not often enough, because it was far. But the year 1983, says it all.

Now, 6,567 miles away and 5 hours earlier with just few time zones apart, we are still celebrating.  Today, seems very close compared to the 10,520 miles and 9 hours ahead, I was in our birthday last year, when we were in India.  But of course, it is very far away, no matter how you look at it.  Miles and time zones away, we don’t celebrate together anymore.  Just over the phone or on Skype, makes it fun to see and hear what our days look like.

And still, we are both celebrating our birthdays today.  Thirty years apart.  And I love to know that.

Funny I found this page in an old notebook I brought from Chile, when we moved to the US, almost 19 years ago.  I remember finding this piece of calendar that had the day I was born.  So I took that page and stuck it in this notebook that has been stored, but with me all this time, and just recently started using it.

So I was born on a Friday, this day, in 1970.  I think around 7pm, as my mom was celebrating her own (30th) birthday with her friends at home.  They say that they left the party before it was over.  My dad delivered me in the clinic (he was my mom’s doctor) and then their friends stopped by the clinic and brought champagne through the window to celebrate.  Forty two years ago, in Temuco, Chile.

I never thought, that I’d be celebrating my birthday today, half the other side of the world, turning 42, on the same day I am helping elect the 45th president of this (new to me) country.  Funny to think.

This entry was posted in autumn, Celebrations, family, traditions. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to :: 114 ::

  1. Well! Happy birthday to you and your dear Mom! And happy voting day, too! How wonderful that you and your Mom celebrate the same birthday, and I really enjoyed reading about the way you each celebrated during your own special time. Have a happy, celebratory day!

  2. Beulah says:

    Have a wonderful birthday and be sure and celebrate both your birthday and voting for the next president of the United States. What a great thing that you were born on your mother’s 30th birthday. Thinking of you and your family on this day! Enjoy!

  3. Kelly says:

    Happy birthday! What a wonderful thing to share with your Mother!

  4. Monica says:

    ¡¡ Feliz cumpleaños para ti y para mi !!! y gracias a Kelly , Beulah y Leslie Garden por los buenos deseos … Besitos

Leave a Reply

