:: $4 for a buck ::

Have you’ve seen the Ice Age movies?

This is Buck, a weasel.  As Lucas quotes the movie: “My name is Buck. Short for Buckminster. Long for Buuuuuuuuuuck.”

There’s been much talk about their costumes around here.  And finally it was decided that Buck it was for him.  Then, I come in to their conversation.  How are we going to make it.

We’ve never bought a new costume, and it’s not our thing I guess.  We make them with what we have on hand, or try to find pieces at the thrift store, that can work.   So, when I saw this dress, I knew it was the perfect piece to start with.  I figured, for $4, I could give it a try.

I’ve never really worked with ‘stretchy cotton’.

It was a little more work, but it wasn’t too bad.

I had to make it into a suit.  I first drew it to fit Lucas.

Took the elastic out.

But because Lucas was gone that day, I left it as long as the dress went, to cut it once he tried it on.

Sewed it around.

Added elastic on top for the neck, since it was a much bigger dress, we wanted the neck to fit tighter.

Then I added a piece of ‘belly fabric’ that I had in my stash (for times like these…. you know, you never know when you need some belly fabric like this.)

Then the ears.  From the fabric that was left, I made a hood with ears. Because they had to be stiff, I put cardboard underneath, and pipe cleaners all around to make them stick up a little.

And added some fur for the eyebrows.

And I think that was all for this part. We made a “knife with the dinosaur bone”, and the eye patch, and our little Buck, was a happy guy.

This entry was posted in autumn, Handmade, Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to :: $4 for a buck ::

  1. Kelly says:

    He looks fantastic!!! Nice job Mama!

  2. Monica says:

    ¡¡ que bonitp el disfraz !! FELICITACIONES y que imaginacion para hacerlo …..

    • Hola Mama. Gracias! Si quedo chori. Y la verdad es que lo que mas me gusta es que era de un vestido que lo converti. Me gusta cambiar asi la ropa, para transformarlo en algo que lo podamos usar. Y lo mas importante es que a Lucas le gusto harto tambien. Y lo pasamos bien para Halloween.

  3. julie says:

    you are so creative! i love the costume :)

Leave a Reply

