{ here with a purpose }

Last weekend we watched the movie Hugo.  We are not a big movie family, but we’ve started watching more movies lately, and now that the days are colder, and shorter, it seemed the perfect way to finish this week.  I thought it was a fun, and really entertaining movie.  I really enjoyed it.

There’s one part that stuck with me.  I’m not one to remember lines from a movie (I have a terrible memory) so I had to search online to find the exact words, because I don’t want to forget it.

Hugo Cabret: Everything has a purpose, clocks tell you the time, trains takes you to places. I’d imagine the whole world was one big machine. Machines never come with any extra parts, you know. They always come with the exact amount they need. So I figured if the entire world was one big machine… I couldn’t be an extra part. I had to be here for some reason. And that means you have to be here for some reason, too.

Isabelle: I wonder what my purpose is…

Hugo Cabret: Maybe that’s why a broken machine always makes me a little sad, because it isn’t able to do what it was meant to do… Maybe it’s the same with people. If you lose your purpose… it’s like you’re broken.

I think with my forty-something birthday coming up in few weeks, I am thinking.  I always get more thoughtful about these things as another year passes, I like to reflect on what I’ve done.

I’ve often wondered what my purpose is.  At different times in my life, I’ve searched, and looked out far away, and closer in. But have wondered, many times, what am I here to do.  And I like to think my purpose changes.  That it has changed from the moment I was born, throughout my life.  That my purpose when I was 5 years old, was different from when I was 16, 24 and 30.  And now at almost 42, I think it’s even different from ten years ago.

I am a mamá of two little people, one not too little anymore, I guess.  But I’m also a wife, a daughter, a sister, a niece, an aunt, a neighbor, a friend, a cousin, a partner.  And I’m also someone walking by in the streets of my neighborhood, and at the park.  I’m a member in my community, a person in the bigger community, and also a world citizen.

With every experience that I have (walking down the street, reading, watching, listening, visiting, traveling) I feel wiser, and feel more rooted.  And still, find myself thinking of my purpose.  I think I have a few.  Purposes.  And I like that.  It keeps me going in directions I like to go.  Some I feel more comfortable with.  Others I need to learn the ropes.  But it’s all good.  I like my jobs and I like learning.

I am so happy that I am here with a purpose.

This entry was posted in family, thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to { here with a purpose }

  1. Kelly says:

    And I am just happy you’re here! You always bring a smile to my world.

    • Oh Kelly…. thank you so very much! That is very nice and a beautiful way to start the week! I am also glad you are here too, and so close! Shouldn’t we see each other more often for being just few blocks away? Have a great Monday too.

Leave a Reply

