:: this time summering not simmering ::

Here, in these parts of the world, where the sun comes for special occasions, we make summer our own way.

I am not saying I don’t like it.  On the contrary, this is my kind of summer.  Cooler days, don’t mind the clouds, enjoy the sun when it appears, but don’t really go all the way out to greet it.  From the shade of trees, I’m perfectly fine.  I actually am better than fine.  I love it this way.

I don’t mind checking to see if it’s going to rain at night, each night (to bring cushions and put bikes and other toys away.)  I don’t mind it at all.  I just do it, usually.

I (and few other people who know me) don’t even know, how or why I always wanted to go to India.  I knew it was too hot for my comfort level.  I knew, I really knew.  But there is something about it.  I think there’s a lot about it, I guess.

The colors, the culture, the people, the food, always drove me to pick a book and read and look through it, and learn a little more about India.  Intriguing and amazing.  And now I know…. really amazing!

 

 

A year ago, we were immersed, bathed if you wish (it was monsoon season) in India.  We were in India for our adventure, and it all seems like a dream, now.

 

We talked to one of our good friends in Gwalior few weeks ago, and it made it a little more real again again.  Seeing them, even though it wasn’t in person, it made it real.  We were able to talk through this amazing little screen of ours, right on my desk, we were talking, in real life, with our friends.  Miles and miles away, nine o’clock our morning, nine thirty in their evening, but still the same day.

Seeing them bigger, growing up, both Lucas and Siena and our friend Popeye in India.  Listening to their exciting stories, and news through the speaker made it so much more real, once again.  Listening their voice, their laughs, seeing their faces, their smiles.  I miss them.  I do.

My head and heart fills with emotions.  Beautiful comments, beautiful voices, with that Indian accent I don’t want to forget.  It takes me back.  It takes me back to those mornings walking to the school with them.

Seeing Siena and Lucas ride in Deb’s motorcycle.  No helmets (I know… I never got used to it), the three of them, Siena and Lucas hanging on as tight as they could, for a ride few yards to school.  Seeing their face beaming with happiness when they’d get on that motorcycle, is something I’ll never forget.   Thank you Deb, for all those rides and beautiful memories!

Oh…. so many new things we experienced in our (almost) five months in India.  So many, so many new experiences.  So many new stories for them (and me) to tell and remember.  Forever.

I am printing photo books from our trip, so we can have them on hand to look through, on our coffee table.  Just at an arm’s reach, ready to travel again.  We do that a lot here in our house.  The blog and the internet is great, but there’s something so special about holding a book in our hands. No stories (that’s the blog I guess), just photos.

These books bring back memories, stories, faces, sounds, sights, thoughts, and so much that we had last year.  I really hope we won’t forget those stories.  So many.  So many amazing stories.  Oh my…. or was it a dream?

I know, it was real.  This time though, I am feeling the chilly nights now, and it’s only August.  The end of the month is near.  Mark has started work, classes will start soon, the days are getting shorter, and the temperature is dropping a little.

All this is enough to remind me that this time, this August, I’m in Portland.  The rain will soon come, and it won’t come with heat.  It won’t be the end of the monsoon season.  It will be cooler, it will be the beginning of autumn.

But right now, we are still enjoying the sunshine when it comes.  We are spending as many hours outside as we can, eating meals outside, and Siena and Lucas still sleeping in our backyard.  But it’s coming, I know, the end of our summer-ing is coming, and we have many memories to share again, and a new beginning to look forward to.

This entry was posted in family, friends, homeschooling, India, thoughts, travels. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to :: this time summering not simmering ::

  1. Kelly says:

    I think you and I dream of the same kind of summers!

Leave a Reply

