Song of the Builders

By Mary Oliver in her book Why I Wake Early I found this poem I really liked.  Like her other words, I’d like to share this with you.

Song of the Builders

On a summer morning

I sat down

on a hillside

to think about God–

a worthy pastime.

Near me, I saw

a single cricket;

it was moving the grains of the hillside

this way and that way.

How great was its energy,

how humble its effort.

Let us hope

it will always be like this,

each of us going on

in our inexplicable ways

building the universe.

Have a beautiful day.

This entry was posted in Art, books, global, thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Song of the Builders

  1. Cassie says:

    What a lovely sentiment. Thank you for sharing, I needed that today. I needed to be reminded it can be the small things that mean the most. : )

Leave a Reply

