[ a summer quilt : 100 % recycled ]

Back in May, when we had a couple of sunny days I decided ‘we needed’ a summer quilt.  Because you know, people ‘need’ different quilts for different rooms, beds, people and of course, for different seasons!

So when I looked at my shelf of fabric what drew to me (and well, I’ve been thinking about it for a long while) was linen.  I love linen. It says ‘summer’ to me like no other fabric.

So I got all my linen clothes I didn’t wear anymore, plus those that I had found thrifting and saw what I had.

Do you see those dark brown pants in the bottom of the pile here?  Well… I’ve been thinking about this quilt for a long time, so long, that I actually brought these linen pants I wore (out) in India last winter.  I know, crazy you might call me, but how could I not.  With so many stories, so many memories (and hot-hot, sweaty memories they are!) I had to bring them home for this quilt!

And just so I wouldn’t cause a battle with my husband over if I should bring these ripped pants back from India, in our too-full, too-heavy suitcases, I didn’t even tell him that these pants were no good anymore as pants.  But that they were the perfect piece of fabric for this quilt I was thinking of making.  I felt there was no need to add this information, to our already tight (in space) return home.  Right?

I first, disassembled all the pieces of clothes, and kept the good parts.

Cut them in strips and blocks of whatever length they were, but all the same width (I think it’s 9 inches wide).  Including buttons and all.

And sewed them together in longer strips.

And the pieces left I’m putting them in this little cushion-ottoman we bought in India. (It needs lots more pieces to fill it so I better get sewing!)

I found this flowery sheet at the thrift store for the backing.  100% cotton, very soft.

I made my sandwich with the batting (cotton) I bought.  I didn’t realized when I was sewing the pieces together, and adding the fabric (from old curtains I had made for our house when we first moved in 17 years ago) in between the strips, that it ended up so big.   It barely fit in the floor space we have in our art studio (the biggest open floor space in our house.)  The chairs helped to put it in place.

After sewing the edges, and turning it, I decided to put ties.  I wanted it quick.

And it’s done.  An easy summer quilt we can have outside.  I’ve always wanted to make a quilt with linen, and this was the perfect project for me right now.

I really like the natural colors.  I’m not sure yet, if I like the parts from shirts I left, like the buttons and the closings.  I’m going to have to think about that, but it’s not much.  Just a few small pieces that’s all.  I do like the pockets from the pants.  But it doesn’t really matter.  I love how it looks, how it feels, and that it has some stories to tell…. or at least to remind me.

Well? It’s finally done and it’s not raining.  And I feel even better knowing that it is 100% recycled (except the batting and the thread!)  Not bad I think.

Note: The truth is that it’s not all the way done.  You can see in the last photo I’m still missing the ties in the white strip and some of the other blocks… but it’s almost done, just few more minutes of work.  I just want it to be outside and to take a picture and post it before the summer was over!  Phew.  Have a month to spare.

This entry was posted in Handmade, Sewing, Summer. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to [ a summer quilt : 100 % recycled ]

  1. Glenda Miller says:

    Nice to see the quilt in the picture and nicer to have seen it in real life!! Makes me want to sit down and read in your comfy, homy, shady spot!!

    • Hello Glendie. Thanks! I love how the quilt looks, and I’m glad you got to see it, before it was done. NOW, you are right, you can come and see how it feels sitting down with it, FINISHED, in our backyard! Thanks for teaching me to quilt, Glendie! There is no coming back…. quilt, quilt, quilt! Right? :-) Love it!

  2. Little Sis says:

    Thanks so much for sharing this. I am so interested in quilting and so very intimidated by it. While I know it’s not easy, you make it sound possible, and rewarding.

    • Hello Little Sis. I am glad it inspires you. I’m still learning to quilt (notice in my other quilt posts, all my quilts are straight sewing (rectangles, squares)… no circles or hard things like that! I love it!!!
      I started (and continued) using thrifted and recycled fabrics, so I don’t feel so intimidated, in case I make mistakes. And ties, I think, are the way to go for a first quilt. So you can take all your time making the top, and the sewing is much easier when you have all your layers. I think once you decide to make your first quilt, there’s no coming back! You are going to love it. I do!

Leave a Reply

