I call it home

When we were in India last fall, I made a video of Oregon.  I had taken pictures of downtown, of our home and our friends, and took them with us as well as other photos from our camping and hiking trips.  Photos I have and usually take.

When we shared our video with the students, teachers and friends, we realized that the video was mostly about nature.  A lot of the students were surprised we didn’t share more of the ‘city life.’  We are not really ‘city people.’  We live in the city, and we do enjoy what the city has to offer, but we pick and choose.

We are pretty boring by some people’s standards, but we enjoy our days.  We like them mellow, and we like them filled with family time.

We’d much rather stay at home together, play a card game or parcheese, read a book, maybe watch a movie snuggled up in our bed, than going out by ourselves and have Siena and Lucas stay with our friends.

Maybe it’s the rain and long winters (or springs that look like winter) that keeps us tight.

But we like it like this.  We like being out of doors.

For a hike, counting critters, camping, planting, playing, or anything else that can come up.

Rain doesn’t usually keep us from going out and doing our things. You can’t if you live in Portland.  There’s always a chance of rain, no matter the time of the year.  And I love that.  It’s what keeps everything green.

Filled with diversity.

This is what I call home.

It’s not the home where I grew up.  It’s the home where I have my own family now.  I’ll never be a ‘local.’  I’m actually far from being called a local. But this is where I belong now.

It’s the place where Mark and I decided it was the best place to start our family.  It’s the home where we live as a family.  Where we are raising our children.  Where we do our day-to-day things, where we have a house, grow our own vegetables, have our friends, and volunteer.  It’s the home where we laugh, learn and make memories, each day.

 

This is home.

This entry was posted in family, homeschooling, locals, Oregon, outdoors, Science, spring, thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I call it home

  1. Fish Out of Water says:

    My brother lives in Portland. He’s so in love with it. Your pictures are gorgeous!

  2. What a beautiful home you have! I LOVE nature too! I feel really bumped we decided to skip Oregon for this trip (to go straight to UTAH before it’s freezing…) How is Oregon in October? Rainy, I would guess…

  3. darwinsbulldog says:

    I love Portland, it has been my home for 2 1/2 years now, with my wife and two kids. I blog at Exploring Portland’s Natural Areas: http://exploreportlandnature.wordpress.com/

    Wonderful photos!

    • Hello again.
      Thanks! As you can see, I love Portland too. We’ve lived here for 18 years and I am amazed, surprised and love at every sight, every single time. It is a beautiful, amazing place.

      I’m glad you’ve enjoyed Portland in your two years, and that you can share in your blog some of the fun things we have here. It is a great place to live. We thought that without kids, for so many years, and now having two kids, I can say the same thing.

      Thanks for coming to visit!

Leave a Reply

