::: thankful :::

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving in the US and lots of people are celebrating this day.  I hope is a beautiful day for all.

There’s not much we have found here in India that we can make Thanksgiving a real celebration this year.  It will be like another day. Mark will be working, same schedule as always.  Lucas and I will probably stay at home for breakfast to start our mornings a little slower, and then go to the school later to meet everyone for the mid-morning break.  And we’ll have lunch and dinner at home and we’ll be together all day, like the other days.  It has been a great treat to be able to do this.  it is a real gift.

We won’t be eating turkey or ham or anything fancy.  Maybe noodles, or rice and dahl, or something else, I’m not sure.  But my cooking skills haven’t gotten any better in the past three months and I wish I could have learned a lot more.  I know I’m missing out on a lot of Indian cooking but it just hasn’t worked out to learn.

Right now, it is the time to get ready for the holidays and celebrate three of our four birthdays.  I love this time of the year, perfect to make all sorts of things.  It feels funny to think of all the things we were doing last year this same time.

Getting ready for the Winter Faire.

I know we are living in a different country, sharing, enjoying and learning all we can while here.  But I also know where home is.  But for all what we have, I’d like to remind myself of how lucky I am.

::: I am thankful (and looking forward) for the nice shower we have at home.

::: I am thankful we haven’t gotten sick here.

::: I am thankful that the weather is getting cooler, finally.

::: I am thankful of my family with whom of course, I wouldn’t be able to be here in India right now.

::: I am thankful for Mark and his hard work in making the best out of his days here, even when sometimes seems hard.

::: I am thankful for Lucas’s laugh.

::: I am thankful for the help we’ve gotten here in India, from our friends, who are always ready to call the taxi when we need one, or have helped us cook, translate when our Hindi is too limited.

::: I am thankful for Siena’s thoughtfulness and questioning life and differences.

::: I am thankful for our families and friends in the US and in Chile who have sent us letters, postcards, cards and packages with goodies and lots of love.

::: I am thankful we were able to share our lives here in India, with Glenda.

::: I am thankful that back at home we don’t have to walk a kilometer to get drinking water.  We can have it straight out of the faucet.

::: I am thankful for my camera and being able to share our days here with you all on this blog.

::: I am thankful for having food to cook to have on the table.

::: I am thankful we’ve been able to see a different culture and learn about it, and take home our experience.

::: I am thankful for being able to see the Taj Mahal in person.  Twice!

::: I am thankful Siena has learned more Hindi than me.

::: I am thankful that Lucas and Siena have found good friends.

::: I am thankful there’s a post office here in The Fort.

::: I am thankful for the bike we have in loan for the past few weeks.

::: I am thankful for our friends back at home who have helped us with our house and garden and all the urgencies that have come up while we’ve been gone.

::: I am thankful for the internet and Skype.

::: I am thankful for the friendships we’ve made here, without whom we would not have made it this far, or at least, this much fun.

::: I am thankful for the teachers who have helped and opened their classrooms for us to come visit and learn at the school.

::: I am thankful also we’ll be able to celebrate some of the holidays back at home.

Thank you my dear friends, for everything you’ve done and Happy Thanksgiving.

This entry was posted in family, friends, homeschooling, India, travels. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ::: thankful :::

  1. Chip Moreland says:

    Hi Marcela, I am thankful for this great blog that has allowed me to relive an experience of a lifetime and wonderful place from a different physical angle. I did mean to tell you what we celebrated Thanksgiving by making popcorn/toast and watch Snoopy’s Thanksgiving:)

    I drove up to Portland to bring Niharika and the boys down to SF for thanksgiving last Saturday. I was hoping to show them Mt. Shasta, Grants Pass, etc which was wonderful on my way up. We spent time with Brooke who took us downtown and then for a great drive around Portland and along the river. What a beautiful city!! Their apartment is very cozy and Kartikeya is walking to and from school. Niharika has also made great freinds with an mother from the school who was born in southern India. Both she and Shantanu have people that give them rides to school. Everyone seems well adjusted…just in time to leaving in a month of course. My daughters and the boys are having a great time and I remember how relieving it was to see the kids happy when on such an adventure.

    We’re wishing you guys a happy Thanksgiving/Holidays from SF.

    • Chip, I hope you are having a great weekend with Niharika and kids. I bet she’s excited to see you and seeing a new place. Time is flying by and we are heading home soon. All the way from india, wishing that your Thanksgiving was a beautiful one.

Leave a Reply

