Jaipur ::: Chokhi Dhani * Rajasthani Village

One evening we went to this Rajasthani Village made for tourists.  It’s about 45 minute-on auto rickshaw away from our hotel.  It’s called Chokhi Dhani.  There were lots of people, but mostly indian families and a couple of groups with children (school trips maybe?)  It was full. Well, for what I’ve seen, most places are ‘full’ here in India.

It was really pretty.  The entrance:

We decided to go eat dinner first.  We were all a little hungry, and I’m glad we decided to go as soon as we got there, because most people eat later here and there was a long wait.

Trying to find the restaurant where we wanted to eat we got lost.  It’s not a huge place, but with lots of turns.  We ended up by the kitchen.  They were telling us it was the wrong way and trying to help us to get in the restaurant, but once I saw where we were, I asked if I could take some pictures. It was the kitchen with open fires where they were making the breads.

We went to have dinner.  You leave your shoes off outside. You wash your hands.

Then they sit you.  They are all long tables with cushions on the floor.  Mark is not someone who can bend his legs and sit criss-cross so he had a harder time, but we all sat together.  We were facing another long table like ours.

Behind us there was a big family reunion or family trip from families from the US.  It looked like there were 3 grandparents and lots of siblings with their families and children.  They were all young children.  I think they were all under 6.  And one couple had twins of about 1 or 1 1/2 year olds (in a double stroller) and a 4 year old. It made me feel better that we were traveling with two older kids… all of a sudden it seemed ‘a lot’ easier!

We tried lots of good food.  Too bad I didn’t get the name of any (that I actually remember) but we tried and ate what we each liked and had a fun time.  I think Lucas and Siena didn’t especially like the buttermilk.

Look at these pretty leaf plates and bowls!

To wash our hands after eating, they poured water from a pretty pitcher on one of a clean leaf bowl, placed on top of our used plates.

We then went to visit the rest of the place.  Danced and played some music with sticks.

Photo by Mark

Photo by Mark

Photo by Mark

Few people taught us how to dance and play these sticks.

Photo by Mark

Photo by Mark

We also saw a magician’s show.

The last act of his show is approaching.  Thinking we were sitting in this stage with the cobra statues in the entrance he’d bring a cobra in that basket he had sitting next to him, I was ready.  I wasn’t too close to the stage but I could still see.  For me, a perfect distance from a snake.  So he does his movements and we are waiting.  He opens the basket (typical I’ve seen where people have their cobras) and there’s a dove!  How relieved I was.  Forget the magic! I felt relieved it wasn’t a snake.

But then I realized it was pretty cool he had “appeared” a dove inside the basket! Now I’m enjoying a little more.  He does more magic moves and I’m stressing out.  I’m thinking, how is he going to get the dove out of the basket and bring the cobra without eating it, right? I have no idea how he does it, but he has THREE doves in the basket now!

He was very good.  Even better because he didn’t have a snake!

We also watched a show of puppets.

And played some games.

There was also a very pretty maze.

I think this is the closest we’ll get to a corn maze this fall!

And Lucas and I rode a cart pulled by a camel.  A short ride and you can feel being pulled by long-legged camels.  The cart moving back and forth with long strides.  Lots of fun.

And I will leave you ’til tomorrow with this dance.

And a short video.

 

 

This entry was posted in Art, Food, global, homeschooling, India, travels. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jaipur ::: Chokhi Dhani * Rajasthani Village

  1. Chip Moreland says:

    The line was 1 hour deep when we showed up here and it was already too late. We were sad to miss this but so glad to see your post and that it was worth the trip. Looks as I had hoped.

  2. monica says:

    ¿Esos platitos de hojas son desechables ? se ven preciosos ….

    • Si! Son desechables, y son SUPER SUPER lindos. Ya encontre un lugar aca cerca del fuerte donde voy a comprar un par…. bueno, los venden en montones grandes, pero me llevare algunos no mas y los otros los dejo. Hechos con hojas! preciosos!

Leave a Reply

